Distant Voices

Concert with old, new and supernew music performed by the Dillon / Torquati duo from Italy.

Francesco Dillon, Cello
Emanuele Torquati, Piano

Franz Liszt – Die Zelle in Nonnenwerth
Jonatan Sersam – Sånger 2 (world premiere)
Peter Ablinger – Voices and piano: Anna Magnani (for piano and tape)
Johannes Brahms – Minnelied (transcr. Brahms)
Walter Zimmermann – Dit (for cello and tape)
Mario Pagliarani – Schubert sotto la neve
Alessandro Perini – N-S (world premiere)
Salvatore Sciarrino – Melancolia
Gabriel Fauré – Chant funebre (from Sonata no. 2)

The original concept “Distant Voices”, designed by the Italian duo Francesco Dillon (cello) and Emanuele Torquati (piano), is a time trip, a journey through our collective cultural memory. In this new version of the project, called “Distant Voices: Malmö”, the composers A. Perini and J. Sersam have worked out, together with the musicians, a new version especially designed for Malmö. This version is questioning cultural identity with special focus on the differences between Italy and Sweden. The concert becomes a journey not only through time, but also through space, both geographical and mental. From this particular angle we want to open up a new dimension in the concert concept and start a possible development, resulting in possible corresponding project versions at other latitudes.

With support by:
– Stiftelsen Längmanska kulturfonden
– Konstnärsnämnden

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s